A little look at Nan from the seat of my bicycle.

This post was inspired by a bike ride I went on at dusk this evening.

After hopping on my bike and picking up my printing from a little dusty shop near by, I decided to try a family owned restaurant for dinner that was just down the road from the printing shop. As I arrived, I caught a man’s eye and quickly waiied to show my respect. We smiled at each other and I ordered my favourite, Pork rice noodle soup. As I sat down, we had a very simple conversation and he proceeded to point to all of the utensils in front of me and tell me their names in Thai. I repeated it all back to him and he laughed and helped me with my pronunciation. I really appreciated that as I find most of the places I do go here, the local people either want to learn English or are just too shy to talk at all. So to be able to learn some extra Thai words was a real bonus this time! His pet white cat lay at my feet while I ate as he sat at the back of the cramped little shop watching the World Cup on a tiny TV box.

I flicked through my language guide book as I sat there and devoured the soup. I’ve decided I really need to make more effort with learning this language. I really think it’s so important to be able to communicate and I’ve been finding lately that I’ve met some wonderful people that I see everyday that I would like to be able to hold a conversation with instead of getting to a point where it gets awkward and I just nod/smile and say Pop gan Mai (See you later). The longer I am here it is only natural that these friendships are becoming stronger and I feel because of my lack of knowledge of the Thai language, we hit a brick wall sometimes. Our neighbours are so friendly, offering fruits regularly but what can I say… You guessed it… Kop Khun Ka! Aroi mac mac! (Thank you, very delicious) Time to expand on this I think Erin! It’s not up to the Thai people to bend over backwards to try and speak English even though it is kind when they try their best and usually butcher it. Ha ha.

After I paid the man and said ‘Kop Khun Ka, Aroi Mac Mac’ once again with a smile, I was on my way home. All of the printing papers in the front basket made my bike sway a bit so I dropped it off and decided to explore a bit more. It was lovely to just ride through the narrow little streets and to see the temples shining with the last rays of sun on them for the day, families spending time together, the wooden traditional houses and also the green fields dotted with cows grazing. I ended up getting a little lost but with that came this feeling of ultimate freedom and I just wanted to keep going further and further away from our apartment. As I rode down the open road in the fields, I realised how thankful I was for every experience that I have had that has led me to this point. If anything had happened differently, I quite possibly would not be here and that thought I can’t even fathom right now. I ended up heading home as it was getting dark and out of some miracle, I found my way back. The surburban streets resemble a maze here. They are just little white cement roads leading everywhere without rhyme or reason. There is room for one car at a time so can be a little bit of a squeeze at times. When I got home, I showered and made a cup of tea with an urge to write. That brings me to right now…

I will write more about teaching at Rachanuban School in another post soon. That element of living in Nan has easily been the most challenging and rewarding experience of my life. In my first week and still every now and then, I have moments of self doubt, moments of wanting to just run back to the comforts of home and also moments of feeling so out of control. Before coming to Thailand I could never imagine using a bamboo cane in the school system however it is a common punishment used within the Thai teachers. I just get laughed at when I pick it up as a scare tactic as the little ones know that I wouldn’t do it. I have never been great at the ‘stern’ face. I have even had times where I would say ‘Sit down’ and use huge gestures so it was very clear what I meant. The children clearly had no idea (or pretended they had no idea) and proceeded to make dance moves out of my commands singing… ‘Sit down, sit down’ as they shuffled their feet backwards and motioned with their hands the same gesture I showed them a few minutes before. I had to hide the giggle and remain stern to even have a chance of getting them to sit down.

As the weeks go by, each day really does get easier. I am starting to know my students and that is one of the best things about the job. Actually, it is the best thing. The children are incredibly loving and I’m overwhelmed with their little smiles and willingness to receive high fives and shake hands. Kids will be kids, wherever I am in the world and I’ve realised it’s silly to even think that a classroom of 7 year olds will ever be still and quiet. I am enjoying just concentrating on the children and giving them a fun experience each time I walk in the room. I find they respond so much more to music, games and just a certain relaxed vibe instead of someone who takes things too seriously and strives to have order all the time. As English teachers, we want to ignite that fire in them to want to learn English. Once they decide that they want to, then there’s no going back! Everyday is still a roller coaster without a doubt. I can’t pick it. Sometimes classes go well, sometimes not so well. I’m learning to roll with it, not to take it so seriously and just to learn from every thing that happens. You really find out what you’re made of in those moments of panic, not in the easy ones.

The longer I stay here in Nan, the more it’s feeling like a great little home for now. This town isn’t buzzing like the cities down south and there are no beaches but it has a certain charm about it. The mountains stretch all around us, there is an abundant supply of exotic fruits and the ancient temples line most streets. There are many national parks to explore which reminds me, I must toughen up and rent a motorcycle. That’s how most people get around over here. For now a bicycle has been a great way to get around and see everything. Each bike ride I go on, I see a new little part of Nan and fall more in love with this place.

Thanks for reading.
All my love,
Erin x

6 thoughts on “A little look at Nan from the seat of my bicycle.

  1. Hi Erin, what a great post! I love how you’re consciously making the effort to think outside the square and not necessarily take the safe or easy road … good on you, you won’t regret it! I especially loved where you write about deciding that the priority is to make the lessons fun and not necessarily all proper and in order .. actually, that reminds me of a certain fabulous choral conductor and how she strives for the same thing … I guess “fun” equals “opening up to a love of learning and stretching boundaries”! Anyway, I’m very impressed, for what it’s worth, and think your life will be so much the richer for all the risks you’re taking … no wrapping yourself in cottonwool for you, I can see! Hope you keep having a wonderful adventure! Nuala x

    • Thanks for your kind words Nuala! It’s lovely to hear from you and yes I agree, Lyn is so wonderful at doing just that. You’re so right when you said that fun is the gateway to people pushing their boundaries and loving what they are learning about. It’s so important to bring an element of fun into everything we do in life I think! Your reply means a lot, thank you. Also, I tried mangosteen the other day! I know what you are raving about now. They are delicious haha.

Leave a comment